New Brunswick Lighthouses

New Brunswick Lighthouses


Beacons of light and safety, lighthouses dot our coasts and tell the story of our past.

New Brunswick is home to over 60 lighthouses with many on inland rivers. For lighthouse lovers, there is no better way to spend summer vacation than exploring these magnificent historical and cultural attractions.

Just ask Michelle Girouard, a photographer from St-Paul in Kent County and a proud mother of 2. Michelle has a passion for lighthouses having visited over 30 in New Brunswick alone. One of her most memorable visits was a 24 km walk to the Bouctouche Bar Lighthouse. Although it's difficult to pick a favourite because they're all so special in their own way, Michelle did put the Miscou Island Lighthouse, which is open to visitors, and the Head Harbour Lighthouse on Campobello Island at the top of her list. Thanks to Michelle for sharing her incredible photos for you to enjoy!

Miscou Island Lighthouse

Originally constructed in 1856, still in use today.

It is open to the public and visitors can climb to the top and experience stunning views of sea and sand. The wire stays you see in the photo are there to stabilize the structure after it was moved in 1946 due to the eroding shoreline.

Portage Island Lighthouse

Constructed in 1869.

Originally constructed on Portage Island to guide boats into the Miramichi Bay, it was purchased by The New Brunswick Aquarium and Marine Center and moved to their site in Shippagan in 1986.

Hay Island Lighthouse

Constructed in 1905.

In 1905, an enclosed pyramidal tower took the place of the pole light that served as the front range light. The lighthouse is no longer in use however it serves as a tourist destination and is part of the Île-aux-foins Park.

Cape Spencer Lighthouse

Originally constructed in 1873.

Located southeast of Saint John, the original wooden structure was replaced with a concrete tower in 1918, 1971 and again in 1983.

Ritchie Wharf Park Lighthouse

This lighthouse that is part of the waterfront park in Miramichi is a bit of a mystery. Anyone with information on its history, please comment below. It could be associated to the William Merry House, built by the lighthouse keeper between 1854 and 1860.

Point Escuminac Lighthouse

Originally constructed in 1841.

The light tower shown in the photo is the structure that exists today, which was built in 1966 and is a recognized Federal Heritage Building. It serves as an aid to navigation and also a weather station.

Oak Point Lighthouse

Constructed in 1902.

This Lighthouse is situated at the northern end of Long Reach, a wide, straight section of the Saint John river that runs along the west side of the Kingston Peninsula.

Green’s Point Lighthouse

Constructed in 1903.

L’Etete passage was a busy thoroughfare used by vessels en route to St. Andrews, St. Stephens and St. George. The coast guard monitoring station has been a vacation rental property since 2002 to help fund the maintenance of the property which is operated by the Green’s Point Light Association.

Saint John Coast Guard Base

Constructed in 1985.

A ‘faux’ lighthouse built in 1985 by the Coast Guard and as part of their base station. The base was sold as part of a waterfront development project by the City of Saint John in 2008 and the fate of the lighthouse appears to be undetermined.

Cape Tormentine Lighthouse

Constructed in 1907.

Located at the end of the former Cape Tormentine ferry wharf, this lighthouse with its square wooden tower and sloping sides remains standing today at a height of thirty-two feet.

Anderson Hollow Lighthouse

Originally constructed in 1889.

The original structure was built in 1889 on the Anderson Hollow wharf. The lighthouse in this photo was built in 1903 and has been relocated three times. The tower is closed to the public but the site is open to tourist at Harvey Bank Heritage Shipyard Park.

Cap Lumière Lighthouse

Constructed in 1865.

An active lighthouse used to mark the harbour entrance into the Richibuctou River which has two significant sandbars. Richibuctou was the third largest shipping port in New Brunswick in the early 1800s.

Quaco Head Lighthouse

Originally constructed in 1835.

The first lighthouse was an octagonal tower with an attached dwelling and could be reached by foot at low tide. In June of 1881 a fire broke out and completely destroyed the buildings. A new lighthouse was constructed in 1883. The present Quaco Head Lighthouse was constructed in 1966.


  • Darlene Boyle

    Love lighthouses! One of my favourite things! Amazing pictures!

  • ExcellenceNB

    Hi Bob, For this particular blog article, we simply featured a dozen or so lighthouses from the 60+ found in New-Brunswick, showcasing the works a local photographer. If you have an image of the Caissie Cape lighthouse, we would love to see it! Thank you for sharing!

  • Bob Betts

    Just curious. Why is the lighthouse in Caissie Cape (Grande-Digue) not featured here or is there others that are not listed?

Leave a comment